Illinois State Scholar

Forty-six McHenry High School seniors are being recognized as Illinois State Scholars for superior academic achievement by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC) .

ISAC annually selects Illinois State Scholars from eligible high schools throughout the state,  based on a formula that includes class rank and performance on ACT and SAT testing. About 10 percent of Illinois high school students are selected for the program.

“We are very proud that these students, particularly given the challenges of the past few years,” said Dr. Ryan McTague, superintendent for District 156. “Their efforts in high school are setting the stage for successful futures.”

Illinois State Scholars are awarded certificates from the state commission and a digital badge to display online and share. District 156 officials are planning a recognition event soon, and Illinois State Scholars are also typically honored at Senior Awards events prior to graduation.

Illinois State Scholars are:

Cyrus Alcala

Alison Anthony

Ryan Borchardt

Anahi Castilla

Katrina Cronin

Sara Dabbagh

Conner Daehler

Sarah Doherty

Alexandra Fogleman

Alyssa Franklin

Logyn Frapolly

Jillian Galuszka

Megan Goff

Megan Gordon

Katelyn Hanley

Steven Hansen

Laine Hanson

Molly Harrison

Lissette Hernandez

Joseph Hissem

Abbie Honkala

Samantha Hoskins

Alexis Kaplan

Emma Keesey

Hunter Kirk

Skyler Kunetka

Jeff Lin

Caroline Maye

Anna McLaughlin

Aspen O’Brien

Claudia Quint

Giana Ramel

Kristina Robinson

Connor Rodgers

Ella Ruppenthal

Alexis Schwartz

Sawyer Shea

Natalie Sorensen

Shane Spatol

Catherine Storlie

Riley Tobin

Arianna Vallianatos

Jack Waters

Renee Wise

Lydia Zancho

Jorryn Zelek

The Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC), the state’s college access and financial aid agency, presents this important recognition of academic achievement to exceptional Illinois high school students annually. This year, more than 17,340 honorees join the other outstanding students who have been honored since the designation was first introduced in 1958.