Illinois State Scholars announced for MCHS

A total of 34 McHenry Community High School District 156 seniors have been named Illinois State Scholars by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission in recognition of superior academic achievement. 

ISAC annually selects Illinois State Scholars from eligible high schools throughout the state,  based on a formula that includes class rank and performance on ACT and SAT testing. About 10 percent of Illinois high school students are selected for the program.

“We are very proud of these students,” said Dr. Ryan McTague, superintendent for District 156. “Their efforts in high school are setting the stage for successful futures.”

Illinois State Scholars are awarded certificates from the state commission and a digital badge to display online and share. District 156 officials are planning a recognition event soon, and Illinois State Scholars are also typically honored at senior awards events prior to graduation.

The Illinois State Scholars from the Class of 2023 are: Lynette Alsot, Suzanne Arizmendi Licona, Zachary Burke, Josephine Cable, Bethany Cook, Tagan Gizel, Apryl Hanneman, Tyler Haws, McKenna Hodge, Trevor Jesme, Ariana Justin, Ella Kokoruz, Jacob Kushman, Wyatt Lulow, Katherine McLaughlin, Emily Meyer, and Marissa Meyer.

Also, Vanessa Moreno, Emilija Nikitovic, Nicole Pedretti, Kirsten Plaiss, Caleb Rezmer, Brandon Rivera, Anthony Ruiz, Bethany Snyder, Peyton Stinger, Joseph Storer, Mara Torres, Greyson Veneziano, Rose Wagner, Ryne Wagner, Hailey Walker, Taylor Wickenkamp and Sidney Ziebel.

To learn more, visit